The Gnomes of Our Unconscious Mind & Other Nonsense

The author mentions the gnomes of his unconscious mind.

The author mentions the gnomes of his unconscious mind.

Since my last report, I’ve been plugging away in stolen moments. (The best ones seem to be on the weekend– though there is a price to pay for holing up with a keyboard on a family outing while one’s wife entertains one’s five-year-old on a rainy day).

As time gets harder to come by (with the planning and marking and deadlines of a teaching day job crowding things out), I find that the toughest thing is to keep the book clear in my mind so that I know what the next steps were meant to be and what the current puzzles are.

We have all had moments where we’ve been stuck on a problem only to have a light bulb moment in the shower or the grocery store or some other place nowhere near a desk. We fill our minds with our work and then find that the ingenious gnomes who populate the unconscious corners of our minds are working through the night.

My current challenge is keeping my head full and the gnomes gainfully employed.

Wish me luck!

PS: The book is tight to page 504 and we’re in the midst of the most muddled.

One thought on “The Gnomes of Our Unconscious Mind & Other Nonsense

  1. I couldn’t sleep tonight. So I decided to go check on the progress of one of my favorite fantasy series that I had long thought was stalled in production (possibly with no hope of completion). I was more than pleasantly surprised to find this catalogue of blog posts which have entertained me greatly and filled me with hope that I will know the completion of Durand’s story one day soon. I wish you the best of luck sir in your continued pursuit of balancing the ever vanishing flow of time.

Leave a Reply

